Rhonzas Lokitam Clinches 8KM Title In The 12th Edition of Henry Wanyoike Hope For The Future Run

Over 3,000 athletes participate in this year’s Henry Wanyoike Hope For The Future Run Road Race. 

Rhonzas Lokitam led the 8 kilometers Henry Wanyoike Hoe for the Run road race road in time of 25:24.06 he was followed closely by Kamau Wangui in time of 25:25.06. Robert Ndiwa came in third in time of 25:29.10. The 8 kilometre road race was flagged off at Wangige Shopping Centre, Kikuyu Town.

Men’s Category

1. Rhonzas Lokitam (25:24.06)

2. Kamau Wangui (25:25.06)

3. Robert Ndiwa (25:29.10)

4. Moses Waiyaki (25:43.50)

5. Moses Kibor (25:48.00)

In the women’s category, Ruth Karanja clocked a time of 29:41:10. The Kikuyu based champion was followed closely by Judy Cherotich and Esther Waweru in time of 30.08.10 and 30.10.40 in number two and three respectively.

Women’s category

1. Ruth Karanja (29:41.10)

2. Judy Cherotich (30:08.10)

3. Esther Waweru (30:10.40)

4. Sheila Kemei (30:49.10)

5. Sheila Jepkosgei (31:02.60)

Under the special category, 72-year-old Nahashon Kamau also participated in the race and finished joyfully.

Over 3,000 athletes took part in the road race which was flagged off at Kikuyu under the theme ‘Peace and Cohesion’.

The annual race which is the brainchild Paralympian athlete Henry Wanyoike has been sponsored by Safaricom to the tune of KES 1 Million.

The funds raised from the run supports various community projects such as student bursaries, feeding programs and income generating projects for persons living with disabilities.

“Last year we raised KES 3M which was used to acquire 50 white canes for the visually impaired and 100 wheelchairs that were distributed to secondary schools in the community. We also supported a nursery school and an athletics club,” said Henry Wanyoike, world record holder and founder Henry Wanyoike Foundation.

Be the first to comment on "Rhonzas Lokitam Clinches 8KM Title In The 12th Edition of Henry Wanyoike Hope For The Future Run"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.