Athletics Kenya names 2019 World Relay Championships team

Athletics Kenya has named the team that will represent Kenya in the 2019 edition of the IAAF  the World Relay Championships that will be held between  11th-12th May 2019 in Yokohama, Japan .

Ferguson Rotich will lead the charge for the new category alongside Kipruto Collins.

4X200M MEN

  • Nyangáu Mike Mokamba
  • Chege Samuel
  • Asamba Dan Kiviasi
  • Omurwa Ferdinand Omanyala
  • Odhiambo Mark Otieno


  • Momanyi Jared
  • Koech Aron Kipchumba
  • Kilii Hellen Syombua
  • Imali Maximilla
  • Thomas Maureen Nyatichi


  • Rotich Ferguson Cheruiyot
  • Kipruto Collins
  • Nalyanya Eglay Nafuna
  • Tuei Emily Cherotich


  • Ndoro Milcent
  • Cherono Joan
  • Murandafu Eunice Kadogo
  • Michira Neviah Mong’ina
  • Chebet Diana
  • Mwangi Freshia Wangari

WTH!  is  the 2X2X400M race?

Leading international athletes have welcomed the addition of two exciting new events to the programme for the IAAF World Relays Yokohama 2019.

A mixed 2x2x400m relay and mixed shuttle hurdles relay have been added to the programme of events. Joining the men’s and women’s 4x100m, 4x200m and 4x400m and the mixed 4x400m, it means there will now be three men’s events, three women’s events and three mixed events being contested on the weekend of 11-12 May.

The mixed shuttle hurdles event is a completely new addition to the World Relays programme. Usually held as a single-sex race, the event in Yokohama will feature two men and two women on each team, running 110m legs.

The relay will begin with the women running their standard 100m hurdles race from the finish line towards the traditional start, but running an extra 10 metres at the end of their leg to account for the extra distance.

They will then change over to the first man on the team who will run 110m back up the straight in the adjacent lane and then change over to the second woman, and so on.

Be the first to comment on "Athletics Kenya names 2019 World Relay Championships team"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.