Teammates Salah And Mane To Battle Aubameyang For African Player of The Year Award

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released the final top three shortlist that will battle it out for the 2017 African Player of the Year. 

The top three finalist in every category were unveiled on Monday, 18 December 2017 in Accra, a ceremony attended by CAF President Ahmad, CAF First Vice President Kwesi Nyantakyi, CAF Executive Committee member, Amaju Pinnick, with Ghana’s Minister of Youth and Sports, Isaac Asiamah, the Guest-of-Honour.

Mohammed Salah, who has had a stellar start to his Liverpool career and guided Egypt to World Cup qualification makes the cut alongside club teammate Sadio Mane and Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang. The three will be seeking to take over from Riyad Mahrez who won the award in 2016.

In the club of the year, TP Mazembe who successfully retained the African Confederation Cup will face competition from Egypt’s Al Ahly and Wydad Athletic Club.

The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.


Full List of Nominees

African Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool) 

Women’s Player of the Year 

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Youth Player of the Year 

Krepin Diatta (Senegal & Sarpsborg)

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year 

 Al Ahly

TP Mazembe

Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year 




Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20

Nigeria U-20

South Africa


Be the first to comment on "Teammates Salah And Mane To Battle Aubameyang For African Player of The Year Award"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.