2017 CECAFA: Zanzibar Oust Ten-Man Uganda To Reach Finals

Zanzibar will face Kenya in the finals of this year’s CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup after seeing off Uganda Cranes 2-1 in the second semifinal played on Friday December 15, 2017 at the Moi Stadium in Kisumu.

Uganda were gifted a free kick just outside the box in the 14th minute but Muzamiru Mutyaba blasted the ball over the bar for a goal kick.

Zanzibar heroes on their part showed that they meant business, Makame Hassan opening account for them in the 22nd minute after being fed with a pass from Ibrahim Hamad.

The goal prompted Uganda to make an early change, which they did by introducing Joseph Nsubuga for Shafiq Bakaki in the 28th minute. One minute later, the Cranes leveled matters through Derrick Nsibambi who did well to connect to Allan Kyambade’s cross.

Their downfall however came ten minutes into the second half when substitute Nsubuga Joseph committed a reckless challenge on Ibrahim Hamad inside the box as he tried to thwart an impending attack, prompting the referee to show his a straight yellow card and point to the penalty spot. 

Mohamed Issa ‘MO Banka’ is the player who stood up to take the spot kick and successfully smashed it past Uganda keeper  Ismail Watenga to take his side back on the steering wheel.

Despite being reduced to ten men, the Cranes tried hard to notch an equalizer but were unsuccessful in their attempts, thus shutting down their quest to defend the regional title.

Zanzibar Heroes will now face hosts Kenya in the finals slated for Sunday December 17, 2017at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos. The two sides met once in a Group A encounter, with the match ending in a barren draw.


Zanzibar Starting XI: Mohammed Abrahman  18, Ibrahim Mohamed Said  15, Adeyum Ahmed Seif 20, Abdulla Salum Kheri  13, Issa Haidar Dau  8, Abdul azizi Makame Hassan 21, Mohamed Issa Juma 10, Mudathir Yahya Abass 4, Ibrahim Hamad Ahmada, 17, Feisal Salum Abdallah, 3, Suleiman Kassim Suleiman,

Subs:  Ahmed Ali Suleiman  1, Nassor Mrisho Salim 30, Mohd Othman Mmanga 6, Ibrahim Abdallah Hamad 2, Abdullah Haji Shaibu (Ninja) 5, Seif Abdallah Rashid (Karihe) 12, Hamad Mshamata Makame 9, Khamis Mussa Makame 28, Abdul swamad Kassim Ali,

Uganda Starting XI: Ismail Watenga (GK); Nico Wakiro Wadada, Shafiq Bakaki, Bernard Muwanga (Captain), Aggrey Madoi; Allan Kyambadde, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Tadeo Lwanga; Derrick Nsibambi, Hood Kaweesa, Militon Karisa 

Subs: Tom Ikaara (GK), Benjamin Ochan (GK), Joseph Nsubuga, Ibrahim Sadam Juma, Nelson Senkatuka, Allan Kateregga, Daniel Isiagi, Tom Masiko, Paul Mucureezi.


Be the first to comment on "2017 CECAFA: Zanzibar Oust Ten-Man Uganda To Reach Finals"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.